Five Oakville, Mehlville High students honored as National Merit finalists for 2021


Five Mehlville School District students have been named National Merit Scholarship Program finalists for 2021, including three seniors at Oakville High School and two seniors at Mehlville High School.

Oakville High School seniors Aurora Baker, Andrew Curran and Katie Seithel were given the honor after being named semifinalists earlier this school year.

Mehlville High School seniors Angelina O’Brien and Matthew Hansen were named finalists after also being named semifinalists in 2020. Later this year, the students will find out if they are among the 2,500 students across the country who will receive a $2,500 scholarship.

The honor is awarded based on SAT scores, high academic achievement and extracurricular and volunteer activities.

In addition to these students, three OHS students were named National Merit Commended Scholars: Justin Crawford, Hannah Franke and Vicky Riordan