Candidate filing open for municipal elections


By Staff Report

Candidate filing began this week for the April 4, 2023 election for Green Park mayor and Crestwood mayor, along with a seat on the Mehlville Fire Protection District Board of Directors, and several other municipal offices and school board positions across South County.

Green Park Mayor Tim Thuston and Crestwood Mayor Grant Mabie have each served two terms.

Aldermanic seats in Sunset Hills and Green Park will also be up for election, plus seats on the Lindbergh, Mehlville, Affton and Hancock boards of education. One six-year term on the Mehlville Fire Protection District Board of Elections will also be decided in April.

Filing began 8 a.m. Tuesday, Dec. 6 and will continue through 5 p.m. Tuesday, Dec. 27.

Candidates have less time to file than in previous years.

For more about required qualifications for the candidates, visit


There will be no aldermanic elections in Crestwood, however there will be an election for mayor. The mayoral term is three years. Curent Mayor Grant Mabie is in his second term after being elected in 2018 and reelected unopposed in 2020.

Crestwood will also hold an election on whether or not to impose a 3% local sales tax on recreational marijuana sales in the city. Missouri Constitutional Amendment 3, approved by voters in November, legalizes recreational marijuana and imposed a 6% statewide sales tax on recreational sales. Local municipalities can impose up to a 3% local sales tax on top of the statewide tax with voter approval.

Green Park

Aldermanic seats held by Carol Hamilton of Ward 1, Matt Farwig of Ward 2 and Joe Monteleone of Ward 3 are up for vote. The seats carry two-year terms.

There will also be an election for mayor. Current Mayor Tim Thuston is in his second-term after first being elected in 2019 and again in 2021. He previously served as Ward 2 alderman. The mayoral term is two years.

Sunset Hills

In Sunset Hills, aldermanic seats held by Brian Fernandez of Ward 1, Christine Lieber of Ward 2, Randall Epperson of Ward 3 and Fred Daues of Ward 4 are up for election. The seats carry two-year terms.

All four incumbents are in their first terms as aldermen. Fernandez was appointed by Mayor Pat Fribis this summer after former Ward 1 Alderman Joe Stewart resigned due to no longer living in Sunset Hills; Lieber, Epperson and Daues were first elected in 2021.

Mehlville Fire Protection District Board of Directors

One six-year term will be up for election. The seat is currently held by Director Aaron Hilmer, who has served on the Mehlville Fire Protection board since 2005. He is in his third term.

Lindbergh Board of Education

Three three-year seats are open on the Lindbergh Board of Education. The seats of Vice President Christy Watz, Treasurer Matt Alonzo and and member Cathy Carlock Lorenz will be up for election.

Mehlville Board of Education

Mehlville Board of Education seats held by President Peggy Hassler, Secretary Jean Pretto and member Jeff Wolman will be up for election. The seats carry three-year terms.

Affton Board of Education

The seats of Treasurer Justin Carney and members Bridget Sinamon and Patricia Zahn will be up for election. The seats carry three-year terms.

Bayless Board of Education

Three three-year seats are up for election on the Bayless Board of Education.

The seats of President Jeffery Presiack and members Tom Wood and Laura Van Zale are up for vote.

Hancock Board of Education

Three seats are up for election on the Hancock Place school board, which carry three-year terms.

The seats of members Garrett Mees and Jean Marshall will be up for vote, as well as a vacant seat on the board.

Special School District

The Special School District of St. Louis will also be holding an election for three open seats. The three open seats represent Subdistrict 2, which covers the Affton, Bayless, Hancock Place and Mehlville school districts; Subdistrict 1, which covers the Hazelwood, Maplewood-Richmond Heights and Jennings school districts; and Subdistrict 7, which covers the Clayton and Rockwood school districts.

SSD Board of Education members are elected by the SSD’s Governing Council, not by popular vote. The Governing Council is comprised of one Board of Education member from each of the 22 school districts in St. Louis County. The council interviews candidates who have applied for open seats on the board. The council then holds an election among its members to determine who will hold the SSD board seats.

Applications will be available at the SSD Central Office, 12110 Clayton Road, between 8 a.m. and 4 p.m. Dec. 6 through Dec. 20. The district office will be closed after noon Wednesday, Dec. 21 through Monday, Dec. 26 and no filings will be accepted during that time.

The final day for filing will be Tuesday, Dec. 27 from 3 to 5 p.m. by appointment only. To schedule an appointment to file Dec. 27, email Amy Doyle at or call 314-989-8419.

Information packets and applications must be picked up and returned to the SSD Central Office by the candidate. Packets and forms will not be mailed. Those returning applications will be required to show proof of identification. Filing will not occur on days when the district office is closed due to inclement weather or districtwide closure.