First day of filing for April election highlighted by many newcomers, competitive Green Park mayoral race


Filing opens Tuesday for a number of area governmental positions that are up for election April 6.

Filing began at 8 a.m. Tuesday, Dec. 15, and will continue through 5 p.m. Tuesday, Jan. 19.

The Green Park mayoral seat will have a competitive race, and aldermanic seats in Crestwood, Green Park and Sunset Hills are also up for election, along with one seat on the Grantwood Village Board of Trustees. Seats on the Mehlville fire board and Lindbergh, Mehlville and Affton boards of education also are up for election.

This article will be updated as candidates file. Check back for the latest news. Last updated Dec. 22 with Sunset Hills Ward 4 candidate Fred Daues filing.  

Mehlville fire board

The seat held by Treasurer Bonnie Stegman on the Mehlville Fire Protection District’s Board of Directors will be up for election, and Stegman filed Tuesday morning to run for a fourth term after 15 years on the board.

Stegman was first elected to a four-year term in 2005 and re-elected to a full six-year term in 2009. No one filed to oppose Stegman in 2015, so she was automatically re-elected to a six-year term.

Lindbergh school board

Two seats with three-year terms are up for election. Current board President Mike Shamia will be up for re-election, along with former board President Karen Schuster.

Schuster has served on the board since 2012, re-elected in 2015 and 2018. Shamia was elected to a one-year term in 2017, then a full three-year term in 2018.

As of Tuesday afternoon, no one had officially filed in Lindbergh yet.

Mehlville school board

Two seats on the Mehlville Board of Education held by Tori Behlke and Lisa Messmer are up for election. Behlke and Messmer were both elected to their first term in 2018. Terms are three years.

On the first day of filing, Behlke filed to run again.

Newcomer Patrick McKelvey also filed. As a senior at Oakville High School in 2015, he fought against budget cuts.

Affton school board

Two seats with three-year terms will be up for election on the Affton Board of Education. The seats are currently held by Michelle Burford and Kenneth Edgar III.


Board of Aldermen seats held by Mimi Duncan in Ward 1, Justin Charboneau in Ward 2, Scott Shipley in Ward 3 and Ismaine Ayouaz in Ward 4 will be up for election.

Terms are three years.

Filing so far are Charboneau in Ward 2, Shipley in Ward 3 and John Sebben in Ward 4. Ayouaz told The Call that he will not be running for re-election. 

Green Park

The Green Park mayoral post will be up for election for a two-year term. Mayor Tim Thuston was elected in 2019. Thuston filed to run again and will be challenged by Ward 1 Alderman Michael Broughton, who also filed to run for mayor. 

Four seats, at least one in each ward, are up for election: The Ward 1 seats held by Broughton and Esad Softic are both up for election, along with the Ward 2 seat held by Matthew Farwig and the Ward 3 seat held by Joe Monteleone.

Softic filed for election to his Ward 1 seat after he was appointed by Thuston earlier this year. Softic’s seat has one year left on the term, while the other aldermanic seats are for two-year terms. 

Sunset Hills

Four seats, one from each ward, will be up for election in Sunset Hills.

The Ward 1 seat held by Joe Stewart, who was just appointed last month by Mayor Pat Fribis, will be up for election. Seats held by Steve Bersche in Ward 2, Nathan Lipe in Ward 3 and Mark Colombo in Ward 4 will be up for election. Colombo is not seeking re-election.

Filing Tuesday were Stewart for his Ward 1 seat, which had been held by Dee Baebler since 2009 until she moved out of the city in September. 

Christine Lieber filed to run in Ward 2. 

Andrew Tolch filed to run in Ward 3. 

Fred Daues has filed to run in Ward 4.

Grantwood Village

Three seats on the Grantwood Village Board of Trustees will be up for election. The seats held by Chairman Kevin Kelso, Public Works Commissioner Mark Kienstra and Building Commissioner Rick Wagner are up for election. Kelso, Kienstra and Wagner all filed for election Tuesday.