South St. Louis County News

St. Louis Call Newspapers

South St. Louis County News

St. Louis Call Newspapers

South St. Louis County News

St. Louis Call Newspapers

Competitive races in Green Park, Mehlville school board

School board races feature incumbents and newcomers
Photo by Erin Achenbach
Citizens vote at the Sunset Hills Community Center April 2, 2019.

Candidate filing closed Dec. 26 for municipal offices and school board positions across south St. Louis County for the April 2 election, including a competitive mayoral race in Sunset Hills, and competitive aldermanic races in Green Park. 

School board seats on the Lindbergh and Mehlville school boards are also up for election and feature competitive races.


There are no competitive races in Crestwood.

Aldermanic seats held by Jesse Morrison of Ward 1, Justin Charboneau of Ward 2, Grant Mabie of Ward 3 and John Sebben of Ward 4 are up for election.

Morrison, Mabie and Sebben have filed for their respective seats, while Rebecca Now filed for Ward 2. Charboneau is term-limited. He has served as alderman since 2018.

The seats carry three-year terms.

Green Park

Aldermanic seats held by Michael Broughton of Ward 1, Ronald Slattery of Ward 2 and Martin Finn of Ward 3 are up for election.

Broughton, Slattery and Finn filed for their seats. Joshua Lang will challenge Broughton in Ward 1, and Kate McKay filed to challenge Slattery in Ward 2. Finn will run unopposed.

Sunset Hills

In Sunset Hills, Pat Fribis is seeking her fifth term as mayor, and will face a challenge by newcomer Richard Gestring. Fribis has served as mayor since 2016 and was reelected in 2018, 2020 and 2022. The mayoral term is two years. Aldermanic seats held by Ann McMunn of Ward 1, Casey Wong of Ward 2, Cathy Friedmann of Ward 3 and Lindsay Hof of Ward 4 are up for election.

McMunn, Wong, Friedmann and Hof filed for their respective seats. Former Ward 2 Alderman Christine Lieber also filed to run for the Ward 2 seat.

The seats carry two-year terms.

Lindbergh Board of Education

Four candidates filed for two open seats on the Lindbergh Board of Education.

The seats of Mike Shamia and Secretary Megan Vedder are open. Vedder has served one term after being elected in 2021 and filed for reelection.

Rachel Braaf Koehler, David Randelman and David Kirschner also filed. Randelman previously ran in 2022 and 2023.

Mehlville Board of Education

Four seats on the Mehlville Board of Education are up for election – the seats held by President Peggy Hassler, Jean Pretto, Patrick McKelvey and Tori Behlke.

Hassler’s seat and Pretto’s seat carry two-year terms, while McKelvey’s seat and Behlke’s seat carry three-year terms.

Hassler and Pretto filed for their respective seats, as did Mike Moore, Bob Mahacek, Sasha Schmittgens and Venki Palamand. Mahacek previously ran for the 22nd Missouri House District in 2022. Palamand previously served on the school board from 2007 to 2013, and from 2014 to 2017.

McKelvey and Behlke also filed for their positions, as did Amy Summers and James L. (Simo) Simokaitis.