Both Dooley, Corrigan face challengers in August primary election

Staff Report

Both County Executive Charlie Dooley and lawyer Bill Corrigan, who for several months was the only person standing in the way of Dooley’s re-election to a second full term this November, will face challengers in the Aug. 3 primary election.

Filing for the primary for county, state and federal offices concluded March 30.

Dooley will face Ronald Levy, 4635 Candace Drive, 63123, for the Democratic nomination this August. Nick Farace, 2040 Danelle Drive, 63031, will challenge Corrigan, 52 Godwin Lane, 63124, in the Republican primary.

Libertarian Theo “Ted” Brown Sr., 9901 Lilac Drive, 63137, also has filed for county executive.

The other countywide office up for election this year is prosecuting attorney.

Incumbent Robert McCulloch, a Democrat, is unopposed in both the primary and general elections.

Four County Council seats also are up for election. Incumbent 1st District Councilman Hazel Erby, D-University City, is unopposed for both the primary and general election.

Third District Councilman Colleen Wasinger, R-Town and Country, is unopposed for her party’s nomination this August. Kathy Schweitzer, 1507 Shoe-maker Court, 63146, has filed as a Democrat for the 3rd District council seat.

In the 5th District, incumbent Democratic Council Chair Barbara Fraser has filed for the 24th District state Senate seat. Republican Randy Jotte, 120 Orchard Ave., 63119, has filed for Fraser’s council seat along with Democrats Terri Williams, 521 Clark Ave., 63119; Pat Dolan, 1259 Boland Place, 63117; and Allison Rubin, 1451 Bobolink Place, 63144.

Incumbent 7th District Councilman Greg Quinn, R-Ballwin, is unopposed for re-election in both the primary and general elections.

Statewide, Missouri House seats in the 66th, 85th, 95th, 96th, 97th and 100th districts are among those up for election.

State Rep. Michael Vogt, D-Affton, cannot run again in District 66 this year be-cause of term limits. Democrat Genise Montecillo, 6308 Hurstgreen Lane, 63123, has filed along with Republican Bill Hartzog, 5038 Winona Ave., Unit 2F, 63109.

In the 85th district, incumbent Democratic Rep. Vicki Englund has filed.

Republicans Cloria Brown, 3306 Lone Elm Drive, 63125, and Al Faulstich, 9815 Mar Ann Court, 63128, also have filed.

Republican District 95 Rep. Mike Leara has filed for re-election along with Dem-ocrat Alice Geary Sgroi, 11127 Patrina Court, 63126. Two Constitution Party candidates, Charles Harter, 827 S. Sappington Road, 63126; and Steven Newton, 2 Almeda Court, 63026, also have filed.

District 96 Rep. Pat Yaeger, D-Lemay, also will vacate her seat this year because of term limits. Democrat Scott Sifton, 9814 Berwick Place, 63123, has filed for the seat along with Republican Anthony “Tony” Leech, 4724 Don Ron Drive, 63123.

Eight people have thrown their names into the race for the District 97 seat, for which incumbent Rep. Walt Bivins, R-Oakville, will be ineligible this election due to term limits.

Democrats Rudy Pulido, 4439 Forder Oaks Drive, 63129; Jim Barrett, 4618 Misty Leaf Lane, 63128; and Jan Polizzi, 5953 Shortleaf Court, 63128, have filed for the seat along with Republicans Gary Fuhr, 5622 Hillcamp Court, 63128; Chris Brown, 5443 Butler Hill Estates Drive, 63128; Jerry Little, 4785 Titan Court, 63128; and William “Bill” Zobrist, 3815 Yaeger Road, 63129.

Constitution Party candidate Daniel Fitzhenry, 3652 Barbagallo Drive, 63129, also has filed in District 97.

In the 100th District, term limits will prevent Rep. Sue Schoemehl, D-Oakville, from running for re-election this year.

Democrats Marty Zuniga, 2605L Southfield Trail, 63129, and Andrew Spavale, 2272 Aileswick Drive, 63129, have filed for the open seat. Republican Marsha Haefner, 3015 Carverview Court, 63129, also has filed in District 100. Randall “Randy” Lewis, 233 Bluff View Circle, 63129, has filed as a Constitution Party candidate.

In the race for Missouri’s U.S. representative for District 2, Republican incumbent Todd Akin has filed along with fellow Republicans Elizabeth “Liz” Lauber, 403 Symphony Hill Court, 63122; Jeffrey Lowe, 520 Hartford Valley Drive, 63385; and William “Bill” Haas, 6614 Clayton Road, No. 231, 63117. Arthur Lieber, 10921 Chalet Court, 63141, has filed as a Democrat in District 2, and Steve Mosbacher, 4 Sugar Hill Court, 63021, has filed as a Libertarian.

In the race for Missouri’s U.S. representative for District 3, Democratic incumbent Russ Carnahan has filed along with fellow Democrats D. Michael Dedic, 1511 Autumn Chase Drive, 63026; David Arnold, 8325 Horst Drive, 63123; and Edward Crim, 7019 Mitchell Ave., 63117.

Republicans John Wayne Tucker, 1243 Water Tower Place, Ste. 320, 63010; Ed Martin, 6427 Devonshire Ave., 63109; and Rusty Wallace, 5649 W. Eagles Valley Drive, 63051, also have filed for the District 3 U.S. House seat. In addition, Steven Hedrick, 103 N. Devasher Road, Unit 7, 64093, has filed as a Libertarian and Nicholas “Nick” Ivanovich, 3775 Cindy Court, 63010, has filed as a Constitution Party candidate.