Attorney, ex-state rep to vie for council seat

Incumbent O’Mara will face Democratic opponent Aug. 2

Ernie Trakas, middle, with his daughter Allyson, left, and wife, Lori.

Photo by Linda

Ernie Trakas, middle, with his daughter Allyson, left, and wife, Lori.

By Staff Report

The husband of a Mehlville school board member will challenge a former state representative for the 6th District County Council seat.

Republican Ernest Trakas of Oakville and former Rep. Patricia “Pat” Yaeger, D-Lemay, will square off in the Nov. 8 election for the 6th District County Council seat currently held by Kevin O’Leary, D-Oakville.

O’Leary did not file for re-election.

Filing for county, state and federal offices for the August primary ended last week.

O’Leary won a special election last April to replace County Executive Steve Stenger, who resigned as 6th District councilman when he was elected to the county’s top job.

He is serving the remainder of Stenger’s term, but the position is up for election in November.

Trakas, an attorney with Mickes O’Toole, is the husband of Mehlville Board of Education member Lori Trakas. Lori Trakas, Larry Felton and Kevin Schartner were vying for two seats on the Mehlville school board in Tuesday’s election — after the Call went to press.

Yaeger served four terms in the Missouri House, representing the 96th District from 2002 to 2010, when she was term-limited out.

Filing for the 2nd District County Council seat were Democrat Sam Goodman, incumbent Sam Page, D-Creve Coeur, Republican Amy Poelker and Libertarian LaDonna Higgins.

The two Democrats will square off in the Aug. 2 primary.

Page was elected in August 2014 to serve the remainder of Kathleen Kelly Burkett’s term. Burkett died in April 2014.

Incumbent 4th District County Councilman Mike O’Mara, D-Florissant, is being challenged by Democrat Rochelle Walton Gray.

Also filing were Republican Curtis Faulkner and Libertarian Jeff Coleman.

The two Democrats will square off in the Aug. 2 primary.

Also up for election are township committeemen and committeewomen seats.

— Republican Tony Pousosa, Republican Casilda “Chris” Struckhoff, Democrat Otto G. Schoenberg III and Democrat Marilyn Beck.

— Republican Jennifer Bird, Republican Russell Dahmer, Sen. Scott Sifton, D-Crestwood, and Democrat Shannon Weber.

— Republicans Linda Bowen and incumbent Teresa Douglas, former Sen. Jim Lembke, R-Lemay, Republican Nathan Brekel, Democrat Michael Koeller and Democrat Brooke Shaw.

• Oakville Township — Democrat Bob Ford, former Rep. Joan Barry, D-Oakville, Republican Kurt Witzel and Republican Celeste Witzel.

— Republican John Judd, Republican Christine Hessel, Democrat Jim Barrett and Democrat Jane Koeller.

The township committee seats carry four-year terms.

• Incumbent Scott Sifton, D-Crestwood, and Republican Randy Jotte of Webster Groves have filed for the 1st District state Senate seat.

• Two Democrats and two Republicans have filed for the 15th District state Senate seat currently held by Eric Schmitt, R-Glendale.

Schmitt is seeking election to the state treasurer’s post.

Democrats filing for the Senate seat are Mark G. Boyko of Kirkwood and Stephen Eagleton of Kirkwood.

Republicans filing for the Senate seat are Rep. Andrew Koenig of Manchester and former Rep. Rick Stream of Kirkwood.

The winners of the Aug. 2 primary will meet in the November election.

The Senate seats carry a four-year term.

• Democrat Sarah Unsicker of Webster Groves and Republican Greg Mueller of Webster Groves have filed for the 91st District Missouri House seat held by Jeanne Kirkton, D-Webster Groves, who is term-limited out.

• Incumbent Genise Montecillo, D-Marlborough, has filed for the 92nd District House seat and will be challenged by Republican Daniel Bogle.

• Incumbent Bob Burns, D-Affton, and Republican Landry Sorbel of Lemay have filed for the 93rd District House seat.

• Former Rep. Vicki Lorenz Englund, D-Green Park, and incumbent Cloria Brown, R-Lemay, have filed for the 94th District House seat.

Englund also serves on the Lindbergh Board of Education.

• Incumbent Marsha Haefner, R-Oakville, has filed for the 95th District House seat and will be challenged by Democrat Glenn Koenen of Oakville.

• Republicans Dan Reuter of Concord and David Gregory of Sunset Hills have filed for the 96th District House seat held by Rep. Mike Leara, R-Concord.

Leara cannot seek re-election because of term limits.

The two Republicans will square off in the Aug. 2 primary.

The House seats carry two-year terms.

• Incumbent Ann Wagner, R-Ballwin, has filed for the 2nd District U.S. House of Representatives seat and will be challenged in the Aug. 2 primary by Republican Greg Sears of St. Louis.

Democrat Bill Otto of Maryland Heights and Libertarian Jim Higgins of St. Louis also have filed.

The seat carries a two-year term.