Mehlville journalists receive state excellency awards

Ten students from the Mehlville School District recently won journalism awards at the Sponsors of Student Publications Spring Conference write-off competitions at Webster University.

Oakville High’s newspaper, The Prowl, received an Excellent Award, while Mehl-ville High’s newspaper, Student Prints, garnered an Award of Merit. In addition, Oakville High’s yearbook, Tiger Paw, received an Award of Merit as well, according to a district news release.

Student journalists earning awards for Oakville High were: Angela Wear, Best of Show for Newspaper Sports Writing; Katie Blessing, Superior Award for Newspaper Photography; Megan Henry, Excellent Award for Newspaper Feature Editing; Mike Doyel, Honorable Mention for Newspaper Editorial Writing; Eric Freshley, Honorable Mention for Newspaper Editorial Writing; Alex Antal, Superior Award for Yearbook Theme Development; Sarah Dalton, Superior Award for Yearbook Student Life Copy; Jamie Lehrmann, Excellent Award for Yearbook Sports Copy; Kyle Tracy, Excellent Award for Yearbook Academics Copy; and Tim Lartonoix Honorable Mention for Yearbook Color Photography.

Mehlville High students winning awards were: Kendrick Jones, Excellent Award for Newspaper Editorial Writing; Jessica Rapp, Excellent Award for Newspaper News Writing; and Sarah Bailey, Honorable Mention for Newspaper Sports Writing.

More than 800 students from 40 Missouri high schools participated in the contest.