Federal Reserve Bank student board features South County high-schoolers


Pictured: The student board of directors of the St. Louis Fed, including three South County students.

The Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis announced the members of its 2020-2021 student board of directors last week. High-school seniors from across the greater St. Louis area are selected to serve on the student board based on a competitive application process, which includes an essay and letters of recommendation. Students meet monthly and gain a thorough understanding of the Federal Reserve’s role in the U.S. economy and experience its unique partnerships with banks, businesses and the community.

“We are pleased to have these students serve on our 2020-2021 board. For the first time, we will be working with the students virtually. We will provide opportunities for them to engage with and learn from Bank leadership and employees,” said Mary Suiter, assistant vice president and economic education officer at the St. Louis Fed. “In addition to learning about the Federal Reserve System and the types of careers available at the Fed, student board members will develop soft skills that will help them prepare for college and careers.”

The South County students chosen for the board are Katie Seithel of Oakville High School, Jackson Terrill of Lindbergh High School and Natalie Robinson of Cor Jesu Academy.

The 2020-21 St. Louis Fed student board members are:

• Natalie Robinson, Cor Jesu Academy
• Katie Seithel, Oakville High School
• Jackson Terrill, Lindbergh High School
• Hannah Branstetter, Timberland High School
• Maliyah Brown, SIUE East St. Louis Charter High School
• Cemia Bryant, Jennings Senior High School
• Jackson Dircks, Freeburg Community High School
• Aldo Estrada, McCluer High School
• Prateek Gautam, Marquette High School
• Josephine Gillette, Clayton High School
• Andrew Gray, Parkway West High School
• Michael Hiblovic, St. Louis University High School
• Evan Holden, Metro Academic and Classical High School
• Pooja Hukeri, Lafayette High School
• Emma Johnson, Lutheran High School of St. Charles County
• Odysseus McKinney, Gateway STEM High School
• Stephanie Njeri, Lutheran High School North
• Hannah Pettit, Collinsville High School
• Madeleine Pinkston, McCluer North High School
• Jahnavi Pydimukkala, Fort Zumwalt South High School