Lindbergh voters retain incumbents; longtime Crestwood official defeated

Baebler, Fribis are re-elected to their seats in Sunset Hills

Karen Schuster

Karen Schuster

By Gloria Lloyd

Lindbergh Schools voters kept their same leadership, Crestwood residents voted out a longtime alderman and Sunset Hills voters kept all their incumbents except one, according to unofficial results from last week’s school board and municipal elections.

Voters in Lindbergh retained two incumbent school board members, Secretary Karen Schuster and Kate Holloway.

Schuster was the top vote-getter with 3,635 votes, while Holloway earned 3,339 votes. Challenger Daniel Sampson came in third with 2,263 votes, and Andrea Gannon earned 1,052 votes.

In Crestwood, longtime Ward 2 Alderman Tim Trueblood was unseated by challenger Justin Charboneau, 270 votes to 141. Trueblood was elected to his current term in 2012, and he previously served as an alderman from 1993 to 2006, when he was unable to seek re-election because of term limits. Charboneau previously was appointed as an alderman in the city of Gerald from 2009 to 2010 to fill a vacancy.

In Ward 4, Timothy Anderson defeated former Alderman Deborah Beezley for the seat currently held by Mike Vincent, 327 votes to 171. In the 2013 Ward 4 race, Anderson lost to board President Mike Tsichlis by seven votes. Beezley served as an alderman from 2009 to 2012.

Ward 1 Alderman Darryl Wallach was unopposed in his re-election bid.

Ward 3 Alderman Paul Duchild did not seek re-election, and Economic Development Commission Chairman Grant Mabie was unopposed for Duchild’s seat. Mabie ran unsuccessfully in 2013 against Bill Boston for the other Ward 3 seat.

Two of the three incumbents running for re-election in Sunset Hills kept their seats, but acting board President Scott Haggerty lost to newcomer Steve Bersche in Ward 2, 300 votes to 233 votes.

Before the election, Mayor Mark Furrer wrote an email to aldermen that he hoped those running for re-election would be turned out in favor of a “sharper group on the board.” He told the Call he had no comment on the election results.

In Ward 1, Dee Baebler fended off challenger Dan Werner 251 votes to 178.

Ward 3 Alderman Jan Hoffmann is stepping down from the seat she has held for 24 years, and the race to replace her last week was a photo finish.

Keith Kostial came out three votes ahead of Lori Scarlett, the candidate supported by Hoffmann, according to uncertified election results released by the county.

Scarlett told the Call that she may pursue a recount on behalf of the many people who volunteered for her campaign since the vote was so close, but it would depend on cost and logistics.

Ward 4 Alderman Pat Fribis held off two challengers for the seat she has held since 2008. Fribis earned 302 votes, while Tom Hammelman earned 209 and Sal Frisella earned 32.