Candidate filing underway for Aug. 4 primary


St. Louis County Executive Sam Page will face two challengers in the Democratic primary this August.

Page, county Assessor Jake Zimmerman and Ladue businessman Mark Mantovani all filed Tuesday for the Democratic nomination for the county executive’s post.

Also filing for the county’s top spot were Republican Paul Berry III and Libertarian Theo Brown Sr.

Filing for county, state and federal offices for the Aug. 4 primary will continue through 5 p.m. Tuesday, March 31.

Also up for election are County Council seats in the 6th District of South County, along with the 2nd District and 4th District.

Incumbent 6th District Councilman Ernie Trakas, R-Oakville, filed Tuesday and will face two Democratic challengers.

Also filing in hopes to represent South County on the County Council were Rep. Bob Burns, D-Affton, who will be term-limited in the Missouri Legislature. Another Democrat, Alex Lange of Lemay, also filed to challenge Trakas.

Burns and Lange will face off in the Democratic primary Aug. 4; Trakas so far is unopposed on the Republican side.

Also filing Tuesday for the County Council were incumbents 2nd District Councilwoman Kelli Dunaway, D-Chesterfield, and 4th District Councilwoman Rochelle Walton Gray, D-Florissant.

In the 2nd District, Dunaway is so far unopposed.

Gray will have an opponent for the Democratic primary in the 4th District, with Hazelwood Board of Education President Mark Behlmann, also of Florissant, filing to run against her.

Missouri treasurer

Incumbent Scott Fitzpatrick of Cassville filed to run as a Republican, along with former Rep. Vicki Lorenz Englund of Sunset Hills, who filed as a Democrat.

U.S. House

U.S. Rep. Ann Wagner, R-Ballwin, filed for re-election Tuesday.

Filing to run against her as a Democrat was Sen. Jill Schupp. Martin Schulte of Ballwin also filed as a Libertarian.

Missouri Senate

In the 1st District that represents most of South County, Sen. Scott Sifton, D-Affton, is term-limited and cannot run for re-election.

Rep. Doug Beck, an Affton Democrat like Sifton, is the only candidate so far to file for the seat.

In the 15th District that represents Sunset Hills in the Senate, incumbent Sen. Andrew Koenig, R-Manchester, filed to run for re-election. He was first elected in 2016.

Filing to run against Koenig was Rep. Deb Lavender, D-Kirkwood.

Missouri House

In the Missouri House, up for election are seats held by Democrat Sarah Unsicker of Shrewsbury in District 91, Beck in District 92, Democrat Burns in District 93, Republican Jim Murphy of Oakville in District 94, Republican Michael O’Donnell of Oakville in District 95, Republican David Gregory of Sunset Hills in District 96 and Mary Elizabeth Coleman, an Arnold Republican, in the 97th District.

Of the South County incumbents, Unsicker, Murphy, O’Donnell, Gregory and Coleman have filed for re-election.

Burns is term-limited. Beck is running for the 1st District Senate seat. To succeed Burns, Democrat Bridget Walsh Moore of Affton filed to run in the 93rd District.

In District 92, Republican Bill Heisse of Affton filed. A teacher for St. Louis Public Schools, he previously ran against Beck in 2018.

Michael Burton, a Democrat, also filed to run for Beck’s seat. He previously mounted a run for the 5th District County Council seat in 2018, before leaving the race. He is most well-known for leading the activism at the council around Tower Tee.

Murphy is the only candidate to file so far in the 94th District.

O’Donnell is the only candidate to file for the 95th District.

Along with Gregory, also filing in District 96 was Democrat Erica Hoffman, who previously challenged Gregory in 2018.

In the 97th, only Coleman filed for re-election. The district is mostly in Jefferson County, but includes some areas of Concord in South County around Meramec Bottom Road and Hagemann Elementary.

Committee members file across county

Republican and Democratic township committee members also filed for office, with offices split by gender and party as township committeewoman and committeeman.

No one filed to represent Concord Township on either side of the aisle, yet.

No one has filed to represent the Gravois Township so far except Steve Reed of Sunset Hills, who filed to run as the Democratic committeeman.

In the Lemay Township, Mike Owen of Lemay filed to serve as the Democratic committeeman.

In Oakville, former Rep. Joan Barry filed to serve as the Oakville Township Democratic committeewoman. She also currently holds the position.

Former Mehlville Board of Education member Matt Chellis of Concord filed to serve as the Tesson Ferry Township Republican committeeman. The office is currently held by longtime Committeeman John Judd.

Incumbent Republican Committeeman Christine Hessel of Concord also filed to serve again as the Tesson Ferry committeewoman.

Other committee races elsewhere in St. Louis County also feature familiar notable officials and candidates.

Gray filed for Ferguson Township committeewoman on the Democratic side.

Councilman Mark Harder, R-Ballwin, filed as Republican committeeman for the Lafayette Township.

Councilman Tim Fitch, R-Fenton, filed to serve as the Republican Meramec Township committeeman.

Fitch’s campaign manager Rene Artman of Fenton filed to serve as the Meramec Township Republican committeewoman.

St. Louis County NAACP President John Bowman filed as the Normandy Township Democratic committeeman.

Former Rep. Margo McNeil of Florissant filed as the Northwest Township Democratic committeewoman.

So far, one of the few contested committee contests will happen in the race for Norwood Township Democratic committeeman.

So far, former Berkeley Mayor Theodore “Ted” Hoskins, Elbert Walton Jr. and Terry Wilson have all filed for that office.

Gray’s former legislative assistant and current county employee Tony Weaver of Florissant filed as the Spanish Lake Township committeeman on the Democratic side. His wife, Linda Reed Weaver, filed in the same township on the Democratic side.

Frequent county executive candidate Brown filed to serve as the St. Ferdinand Township Libertarian committeeman.

Former 1st District Councilwoman Hazel Erby, D-University City, who currently serves as one of the heads of the county’s diversity initiatives, filed for University City Township Democratic committeewoman.

This story will be updated as additional candidates file.