South St. Louis County News

St. Louis Call Newspapers

South St. Louis County News

St. Louis Call Newspapers

South St. Louis County News

St. Louis Call Newspapers

Schlink files to challenge Robinson for Crestwood mayoral post

Staff report

A Crestwood alderman is challenging Mayor Roy Robinson for the mayoral seat in April.

Ward 2 Alderman Jeff Schlink filed last week for the mayoral seat. Robinson, who filed last month, is seeking what would be his third and final consecutive term as mayor because of Crestwood’s term limits.

Robinson was elected mayor in 2005 and was unopposed for re-election in 2008. Schlink, 1228 Capri Drive, 63126, was elected to the Board of Aldermen in 2009 for a one-year term. He was unopposed for re-election last year and won a three-year term.

The mayoral seat carries a three-year term.

Filing concluded Jan. 18 for the April 5 election.

Besides the Crestwood mayoral seat, mayoral and aldermanic seats in Green Park are up for election as are aldermanic seats in Sunset Hills. In addition, seats on the Grantwood Village Board of Trustees are up for election.

Seats on the Mehlville and Lindbergh boards of education are up for election in April as is a seat on the Mehlville Fire Protection District Board of Directors.

Nine people have filed for three seats on the Mehlville Board of Education that are up for election:

• Marea Kluth-Hoppe, 5315 Oaklawn Drive, 63128.

• John Roland Jr., 3715 Pinon Pine Court, 63129.

• Deb Langland, 2823 Spring Water Drive, 63129.

• Elaine Powers, 5123 Suson Oaks Court, 63128.

• Rich Franz, 4937 Lockbriar Court, 63128.

• Michael Doyel, 2905 Meramar Drive, 63129.

• Mark Stoner, 5452 Butler Hill Estates Drive, 63128.

• Franchesca Gindler, 2729 Ashrock, 63129.

• David Wessel, 3053 Armona Drive, 63129.

Seats currently held by Drew Frauenhoffer and Erin Weber, as well as a vacant board seat formerly held by Karl Frank Jr., are up for election in April.

All Mehlville school board seats carry three-year terms.

Frauenhoffer and Weber, elected in 2008, previously told the Call they would not seek re-election.

Frank, who first was elected in 2005, resigned in November.

Seven people have filed for four seats on the Lindbergh Board of Education that are up for election.

Seats held by board Secretary Kathleen Kienstra, board Treasurer Mark Rudoff and board member Don Bee that carry three-year terms will be up for election.

Also up for election will be a seat vacated earlier this year by Janine Fabick that will carry a one-year term. Larry McIntosh currently is serving in the seat.

Kienstra and Bee have filed for the seats that carry three-year terms. Also filing for those seats are:

• Vicki Lorenz Englund, 4539 Valmeyer Drive, 63128.

• Joseph Sartorius, 10315 Grant Forest Lane, 63123.

• Leslie Weiss, 10757 Roanna Lane, 63128.

• George Rezabek, 8 Kahlia Way Court, 63127.

Rudoff filed for the seat that carries a one-year term.

Missouri law states no school-board election will take place in a district if the number of candidates who file is equal to the number of board seats to be filled by the election.

Because he is the only candidate to file for the seat that carries a one-year term, Rudoff’s name will not appear on the ballot.

In the MFPD, the Board of Directors seat held by Chairman Aaron Hilmer is up for election. The seat carries a six-year term.

Michael Klund, 560 Lind Road, 63125; Keith Floyd, 7120 Caddie Way Lane, 63129; Robert Praprotnik, 5100 Heathfield Drive, 63128; and Hilmer have filed for the board seat.

MFPD voters in April also will consider Proposition S, which asks if the Board of Directors should consolidate the district’s general fund and ambulance fund into one fund, resulting in the elimination of the ambulance fund.

The Prop S ballot language states, “Shall the Board of Directors of the Mehlville Fire Protection District be authorized to consolidate the ambulance fund and the general fund, reducing the former by 20 cents and increasing the latter by 20 cents respectively per $100 assessed valuation, as a cost-saving measure to simplify and streamline accounting procedures of the district? If this proposition is approved by a majority of the voters, the overall tax rate will remain the same and there will be no reduction in service.”

In Green Park, the mayoral seat held by Tony Konopka will be up for election.

Also up for election will be aldermanic seats held by Tony Pousosa of Ward 1, Tim Thuston of Ward 2 and Joe Monteleone of Ward 3.

Konopka and Mark Friederich, 11128 Patsy Drive, have filed for the mayoral seat.

Pousosa and Monteleone have filed for their respective board seats and are unopposed. Thuston and Vicki Gamache, 9508 Antigo Drive, 63123, have filed for the Ward 2 seat.

All of the Green Park seats carry two-year terms.

In Sunset Hills, aldermanic seats held by Dee Baebler of Ward 1, Scott Haggerty of Ward 2, Jan Hoffmann of Ward 3 and Pat Fribis of Ward 4 are up for election. The seats carry two-year terms.

The four incumbents all have filed for their respective board seats, and Haggerty, Hoffmann and Fribis are unopposed for re-election.

James Rode, 551 Rotherwood Court, 63122, has filed for the Ward 1 seat.

In Grantwood Village, seats on the Board of Trustees held by Building and Streets Commissioner Bob Bess, Village Clerk Rich Muraski and Community Relations Director Mike Jones are up for election.

All three were appointed last year following the resignation of trustees Glenn Biffignani, Mike Boone and Bob Prebil.

Bess, 7300 Whitehaven Drive; Muraski, 9007 Whitehaven Drive; Jones, 6 Grantwood Lane; and Mark Kienstra, 7365 Navarre Circle; have filed for the three board seats.

Kienstra’s wife, Kathleen, serves on the Lindbergh school board.

The Grantwood Village seats carry two-year terms.

St. Louis County voters will elect an assessor April 5.

The county Democratic and Republican central committees met recently to select their respective candidates.

The Democratic nominee is state Rep. Jake Zimmerman, and the Republican nominee is L.K. “Chip” Wood.

More to Discover