South St. Louis County News

St. Louis Call Newspapers

South St. Louis County News

St. Louis Call Newspapers

South St. Louis County News

St. Louis Call Newspapers

Mehlville inducting its first nominees for the Alumni Hall of Fame


Mehlville School District will hold its first induction for the district’s Alumni Hall of Fame this week. Candidates were selected for making an impact in their communities or in the nation.

Inductees will serve as role models for generations of students who aspire to be productive citizens and demonstrate traits that align to the district’s Portrait of a Graduate.

Hall of Fame inductees will be recognized at the Mehlville/Oakville football game at 6:30 p.m. Friday, Oct. 25 at Mehlville High School, 3200 Lemay Ferry Road.

Honorees were chosen by a selection committee including members of the Mehlville-Oakville Alumni Association, Mehlville National Education Association, Missouri State Teachers Association, OHS, MHS and district employees.


Rob DesHotel, MHS ‘84

DesHotel, who died last year, was a writer-producer who worked on shows including “Buffy the Vampire Slayer,” “That ‘70s Show,” “True Blood,” “Mike and Molly” and “Man With a Plan.” He also served on the Webster University Communications Advisory Board.

Michael Duggan, MHS ‘69

Duggan is the former president of Kraft Foodservice in Los Angeles who went on to help start Arctic Frozen Foods in 1990. The frozen food distribution company merged with Dot Foods. Duggan has served on numerous boards, including Southwest Missouri State University.

Howard Fields III, MHS ‘02

Fields is an award-winning school leader who has become known as an advocate for educational equity and for building an environment where diversity is celebrated.

Kevin Kline, OHS ‘88

Through the Snowdrop Foundation, radio host Kline provides college scholarships to pediatric cancer patients along with funds for research. His career spans three decades.

Ken Leach, OHS ‘76

Leach has served as a sales director for Rosetta Stone and other companies that support education. He also started the junior football program at OHS and assisted with the start of the MHS junior football program. He was a Mehlville School District board member.

Kelly Clark Wicks, MHS ‘85

A successful insurance agent, Wicks founded the Mehlville High School Majorettes and coached high-school twirlers.

Lt. Col Robyn Mestemacher, OHS ‘91

Mestemacher leads the all-female 4th Recruit Training Battalion in Parris Island, South Carolina. She’s responsible for training 3,400 female Marines each year.

Todd Newton, OHS ‘88

Newton has been a disc jockey, entertainment reporter for E! and has hosted game shows. He received the 2012 Daytime Emmy Award for Outstanding Game Show Host for “Family Game Night.”

Bill Nottelmann, MHS ‘36

Known as “Mr. Music Man,” Nottelmann was widely considered the biggest supporter of the Mehlville School District. He taught music in Mehlville schools and supported music education through the business he started, Nottelmann Music. He also founded the Mehlville-Oakville Alumni Association.

Stephen O’Loughlin, MHS ‘85

O’Loughlin has worked his way up in the hospitality industry, starting as a maintenance worker at the St. Louis Clarion Hotel at 15. He is now the president and chief operating officer of Lodging Hospitality Management.

Keon Raymond, MHS ‘01

In addition to teaching children life skills through K25 Sports, the retired professional football player also speaks at schools and groups about a variety of topics including gender-based violence and concussions in youth athletes.

Bob Rogers, MHS ‘59

Rogers first worked for the Mehlville School District as a physical education teacher in 1963. He retired as superintendent 33 years later. Rogers Elementary is named after him.

Irene Treppler, MHS ‘43

Treppler was the first Republican woman elected to the Missouri Senate, where she served three terms. Prior to that, she served six terms in the Missouri House of Representatives. Treppler was known for writing the “potty parity” law, requiring an equitable number of toilet facilities for women at stadiums.

To learn more about the nominees, visit

More to Discover