Lemay chamber honors 12 local teachers

Twelve local teachers recently were honored for excellence in education by the Lemay Chamber of Commerce at the organization’s annual Outstanding Educator Recognition Night.

The honorees, who represent the Hancock Place and Mehlville school districts and various parochial schools, are: Jane Davenport, Beasley Elementary; Linda Kellison, Bierbaum Elementary; Sue Chambers, Buerkle Middle School; Becky Grover, Forder Elementary; Diane Peterman, Green Park Lutheran; Autumn Massey, Hancock Elementary; Michele Schutte, Hancock Middle School; Norm Berkowitz, Hancock High School; Ernest Perrica, Mehlville High School; Maria Mazzella Hoft, Notre Dame High School; Marianne Conlisk, St. Mark; and Cheryl Montgomery, St. Martin of Tours.

Each honoree received a gift certificate for classroom supplies, as well as other items for use in their teaching.

“The Lemay business community recognizes the important role quality schools play in the vitality of our community. This event is the chamber’s way of thanking area educators and schools for everything they do that contributes to the growth of healthy and sustainable neighborhoods,” chamber board member Tanya Pfadenhauer of Montgomery Bank, the event’s sponsor, stated in a news release.

“The chamber and Montgomery Bank believe that recognition of the teachers who educate and motivate the youth of our community is long overdue,” Pfadenhauer stated. “This award is our way of recognizing a positive force in our community and a way of saying thank you for a job well done to our area’s educators, who often have a demanding and difficult task.”