Elected officials discuss education with Lindbergh board, administrators


Attendees at Lindbergh Schools’ annual elected officials breakfast on Dec. 12 included back, L-R: Gary Ujka, Lindbergh Schools Board of Education director; Eric Fey, 5th District County Councilman Pat Dolan’s office; Kevin Kelso, chairman, Grantwood Village Board of Trustees; Crestwood Mayor Gregg Roby; Sunset Hills Board of Aldermen acting President Scott Haggerty; Mark Kienstra, Grantwood Village public works commissioner; Laura Arnold, representing Rep. Jeanne Kirkton’s office; Sue Ehrhardt, village clerk, Grantwood Village; Rep. Mike Leara; Fenton Mayor Mike Polizzi; front, L-R Don Bee, Board of Education vice president; Kathy Kienstra, Board of Education president; Crestwood Ward 3 Alderman Bill Boston; Crestwood Ward 2 Alderman Tim Trueblood; Patricia Williams, Grantwood Village treasurer; Robert Bess, Grantwood Village building commissioner; Marilyn Beck, Sen. Scott Sifton’s office; Sunset Hills Ward 4 Alderman Pat Fribis; Sunset Hills Ward 3 Alderman Jan Hoffmann; Sunset Hills Ward 1 Alderman Dee Baebler; Councilman Dolan. Not pictured: Kate Holloway, Board of Education director.

Lindbergh Schools recently hosted its annual Elected Officials Breakfast on Dec. 12, providing the Board of Education and district administrators an opportunity to meet with several local and state political figures and discuss timely educational issues.

Lindbergh Superintendent Jim Simpson shared an informative presentation about Lindbergh’s No. 1 student achievement for five years, the district’s growing student enrollment, and plans to build a sixth elementary school on the Dressel School property.

Local officials attending the breakfast include Rep. Mike Leara; 5th District County Councilman Pat Dolan and his legislative assistant Eric Fey; Crestwood Mayor Gregg Roby and members of the Crestwood Board of Aldermen, including Bill Boston of Ward 3 and Tim Trueblood of Ward 2; Fenton Mayor Mike Polizzi; Grantwood Village Board of Trustees members Kevin Kelso, chairman, Mark Kienstra, public works commissioner, Sue Ehrhardt, village clerk, Patricia Williams, treasurer, and Robert Bess, building commissioner; members of the Sunset Hills Board of Aldermen, including acting President Scott Haggerty of Ward 2, Pat Fribis of Ward 4, Dee Baebler of Ward 1 and Jan Hoffmann of Ward 3; Marilyn Beck, representing Sen. Scott Sifton’s office; and Laura Arnold, representing Rep. Jeanne Kirkton’s office.

Lindbergh Board of Education members in attendance were Kate Holloway and Gary Ujka, Vice President Don Bee and President Kathy Kienstra.