Candidate filing concludes for Aug. 7 primary

Three Democrats seek party’s nod for District 1 state Senate seat

By Kari Williams

Candidate filing has concluded for federal, state and county offices for the Aug. 7 primary election.

Due to withdrawals of candidates, candidate filing remains open until 5 p.m. Friday, March 30, in six races, including District 93 of the Missouri House, according to Secretary of State Robin Carnahan.

Those filing include:

U.S. House of Representatives

In District 1 for the U.S. House of Representatives, Democrats filing include Candice Britton, 6614 Clayton Road, No. 148, St. Louis; Rep. Russ Carnahan, 3150 Allen Ave., St. Louis; and Rep. Lacy Clay, 6023 Waterman, Apt. 1W, St. Louis.

Republicans Martin Baker, P.O. Box 8712, St. Louis, and Robyn Hamlin, 21 Nob Hill Drive, St. Louis, have filed.

Libertarian Robb E. Cunningham, P.O. Box 150486, St. Louis, filed as well.

In District 2 for the U.S. House of Representatives, Democrats filing include: Marshall Works, 625 Arbor Haven Drive, Ballwin; George Weber, 119 W. North St., Eureka; Harold Whitfield, 139 W. Monroe, Kirkwood; and Glenn Koenen, P.O. Box 403, Valley Park.

Republicans filing include: John Morris, 17 Brookshire Drive, St. Peters; Ann Wagner, P.O. Box 50, Ballwin; James O Baker, 2135 Asher Court, St. Peters; and Randy Jotte, 120 Orchard Ave., St. Louis.

Libertarian Bill Slantz, 1620 Congress Way, St. Charles, and Anatol Zorikova, 426 S. Jefferson, Lebanon, of the Constitution party have also filed.

Missouri House of Representatives

Democratic Rep. Genise Montecillo, 7491 Hardscrapple Drive, No. A, 63123, has filed in Missouri House District 92, along with Republican Al Faulstich, 9815 Mar Ann Court, St. Louis.

Democrat Joe Montecillo, 6308 Hurstgreen Lane, 63123, and Republican Tony Leech, 4724 Don Ron Drive, 63123, filed for District 93.

Democrat Vicki Englund, 4539 Valmeyer Drive, 63128, has filed in Missouri House District 94. Republican Rep. Cloria Brown, 3306 Lone Elm Drive, 63125, and fellow republican Tim Hotop, 2711 Clager Road, also have filed in the 94th District.

Republican Rep. Marsha Haefner, 3015 Carverview Court, 63129, filed for the 95th District, along with Democrat Joe Zelle, 5753 Chatport Road, 63129.

Republican Rep. Mike Leara, 10022 Gregory Court, 63128, has filed in Misouri House District 96.

Missouri Senate

Two former Democratic state representatives and one current Democratic state representative have filed for the Missouri Senate District 1 seat.

Sue Schoemehl, P.O. Box 510376, 63151, and Michael Vogt, 6035 Weber Road, 63123, have filed, along with Rep. Scott Sifton, 9814 Berwick Place, 63213. Sifton previously filed in Rep. District 93.

Republican Sen. Jim Lembke, 812 Ann Lynn Court, Lemay, filed for the District 1 seat as well.

In Missouri Senate District 15, Republican Sen. Eric Schmitt, 937 Brownell Ave., 63122, has filed.

County Council

Democrat Steve Stenger of Affton, has filed for re-election to the 6th District County Council seat he currently holds. Stenger is seeking a second four-year term. Republican Tony Pousosa, a Ward 1 Green Park alderman, filed in the 6th District as well.

Democrat Kathleen Burkett of Overland, filed for her current 2nd District County Council seat in hopes of a third term. Republican Oren Walton has filed to run against Burkett.

Democrat Mike O’Mara of Florissant has filed his 4th District County Council seat in hopes of a fourth term. Libertarians Jeff Coleman and Ted Brown Sr. are also running in the 4th District.

Township committeewomen and committeemen also will be elected Aug. 7. Candidates filing include:

Concord — Democrats Marilyn Beck and Frank Lydon and Republicans Anthony Pousosa and Joann Raisch.

Gravois — Republicans Katy Forand, David Wissler, Jennifer Bird and John Winston and Democrat Michael Vogt.

Lemay — Democrats Sally Hodges and Mike Koeller and Republicans Alan Leaderbrand, Nathan Brekel, Jackie Simon and Randy Howard.

Oakville — Democrats Joan Barry and Earl Blase and Republicans Celeste Witzel and Kurt Witzel.

Tesson Ferry — Republicans John Judd and Anita Zolman and Democrats Jane Koeller and Jim Barrett.