South St. Louis County News

St. Louis Call Newspapers

South St. Louis County News

St. Louis Call Newspapers

South St. Louis County News

St. Louis Call Newspapers

UPDATED: Candidate filing underway for August primary

County, state, federal offices up for election
UPDATED: Candidate filing underway for August primary

Candidate filing for the Aug. 2 primary election is underway for county, state and federal offices.

Filing will continue until 5 p.m. Tuesday, March 29.

As first reported by the Call, 6th District County Councilman Kevin O’Leary will not file for re-election.

He won a special election last April to replace County Executive Steve Stenger, who resigned as 6th District councilman when he was elected to the county’s top job.

O’Leary is serving the rest of Stenger’s term, but the position is up for election in November.

Filing for the council seat and other county, state and federal offices began Tuesday, and former Rep. Patricia “Pat” Yaeger, D-Lemay, filed for the 6th District council seat. She served four terms in the Missouri Legislature, representing the 96th District from 2002 to 2010, when she was term-limited out.

Filing the 2nd District County Council seat were Democrat Sam Goodman and Republican Amy Poelker.

The seat is held by Sam Page, D-Creve Coeur. Page was elected in August 2014 to serve the remainder of Kathleen Kelly Burkett’s term. Burkett died in April 2014.

Incumbent 4th District County Councilman Mike O’Mara, D-Florissant, filed for re-election.

The council seats carry four-year terms.

Also up for election are committeemen and committeewomen seats. Those filing so far include:

• Concord Township — incumbent Republican Tony Pousosa, Democrat Otto G. Schoenberg III and Democrat Marilyn Beck.

• Gravois Township — incumbent Republican Jennifer Bird.

• Lemay Township — Republicans Linda Bowen and incumbent Teresa Douglas.

• Oakville Township — incumbent Democrat Bob Ford.

• Township Ferry Township — incumbent Republican John Judd.

The township committee seats carry four-year terms.

• Incumbent Scott Sifton, D-Affton, and Republican Randy Jotte of Webster Groves have filed for the 1st District state Senate seat.

The seat carries a four-year term.

• Incumbent Genise Montecillo, D-Affton, has filed for the 92nd District Missouri House seat.

• Incumbent Bob Burns, D-Affton, and Republican Landry Sorbel of Lemay have field for the 93rd District Missouri House seat.

• Former Rep. Vicki Lorenz Englund, D-Green Park, and incumbent Cloria Brown, R-Lemay, have filed for the 94th District Missouri House seat. Englund also serves on the Lindbergh Schools Board of Education.

• Democrat Glenn Koenen of Oakville has filed for the 95th District Missouri House seat currently held by Rep. Marsha Haefner, R-Oakville. Haefner filed for re-election on Thursday.

• Republicans Dan Reuter of Concord and David Gregory of Sunset Hills have filed by the 96th District Missouri House seat held by Rep. Mike Leara, R-Concord. Leara cannot seek re-election because of term limits.

The seats carry two-year terms.

• Democrat Bill Otto of Maryland Heights and incumbent Ann Wagner, R-Ballwin, have filed for the 2nd District U.S. House of Representatives seat.

The seat carries a two-year term.

More to Discover