South St. Louis County News

St. Louis Call Newspapers

South St. Louis County News

St. Louis Call Newspapers

South St. Louis County News

St. Louis Call Newspapers

Three candidates seek Democratic, GOP nods for county’s top post

McCulloch will face opponent in Democratic primary Aug. 5

Democratic and Republican voters will each select their party’s nomination for county executive in the Aug. 5 primary from a field of three candidates.

Three Democrats — incumbent Charlie Dooley, 6th District County Councilman Steve Stenger and Ronald Levy — are seeking their party’s nod for county executive.

Three Republicans — Green Park Ward 1 Alderman Tony Pousosa, Ellisville District 1 City Councilman Matt Pirrello and Rep. Rick Stream of Kirkwood — are seeking their party’s nomination for the county’s top post.

Libertarian Theo “Ted” Brown Sr. also filed for the county executive’s post. Brown was a write-in candidate for Missouri governor in 2008, ran for county executive as a Libertarian in 2006 and 2010 and was a write-in candidate for county executive in 2002.

Stenger, of Affton, is serving his second term on the County Council.

Dooley, of Northwoods, has served as county executive since the October 2003 death of County Executive George R. “Buzz” Westfall.

Dooley was elected to serve the remaining two years of Westfall’s term in November 2004 and was elected to full four-year terms in November 2006 and November 2010.

Dooley is retired from Boeing, formerly McDonnell-Douglas. He is a former mayor of Northwoods and was elected in 1994 as the 1st District’s county councilman.

He served in that post until the County Council voted unanimously to appoint him county executive after Westfall’s death.

Stenger announced his candidacy for county executive Oct. 15 surrounded by labor and political leaders, including county Prosecuting Attorney Robert McCulloch, who had withdrawn his support of Dooley the week before.

Stenger, an attorney and certified public accountant who is a partner in the Clayton law firm Klar, Izsak & Stenger LLC, was first elected to the council in 2008, defeating Republican John Campisi on a platform opposing the creation of trash districts in unincorporated St. Louis County.

Levy, of Affton, unsuccessfully challenged Dooley in the 2010 Democratic primary for county executive.

He served on the Bayless school board from 2003 to 2004 and unsuccessfully sought the 96th District Missouri House seat in 2002 and 2004 as a Libertarian.

Levy also unsuccessfully sought the 96th District House seat in 2006 and 2008 as a Republican.

Candidates filing for other county offices include:

• Democratic incumbent McCulloch filed for prosecuting attorney. He will be opposed in the primary by Leslie T. Broadnax.

• Democratic incumbent Jake Zimmerman filed for county assessor. He is unopposed in the primary. Two Republicans — Andrew Ostrowski and Jalesia “Jasha” F. McQueen — are seeking their party’s nod in the primary.

• Three candidates, including Democratic incumbent Hazel Erby, filed for the 1st District County Council seat. Also filing were Wesley Bell and Alexander Jones Jr.

• Republican incumbent Colleen Wasinger filed for the 3rd District County Council seat. She is unopposed. No Democrats filed for the seat.

• Democratic incumbent Pat Dolan filed for the 5th District County Council seat. Gravois Township Republican Committeewoman Jennifer Bird also filed.

• Three Republicans filed for the 7th District County Council seat held by Republican Greg Quinn, who is serving his fifth term on the council. Quinn announced he would not seek re-election.

Filing were Walter Young, Mark Harder and Ellisville Mayor Adam Paul. Also filing was Democrat Steven E. Biggs.

Candidates filing for the Missouri House include:

• Democratic incumbent Jeanne Kirkton filed in District 91. Also filing was Republican Michael Peters.

• Democratic incumbent Genise Montecillo filed in District 92. Also filing was Republican Marjorie Dahmer.

• Democratic incumbent Bob Burns filed in District 93. Also filing was Republican Garrett Mees.

• Democratic incumbent Vicki Lorenz Englund filed in District 94. Also filing was Republican Cloria Brown.

Englund was elected to the District 85 Missouri House seat in 2008 by defeating Brown.

In 2010, Brown defeated Englund for the District 85 seat.

Two years ago, Englund defeated Brown to win election in the newly redrawn 94th District.

• Republican incumbent Marsha Haefner filed in District 95. She is unopposed. No Democrats filed for the seat.

• Republican incumbent Ann Wagner filed in District 2. Also filing were Libertarian Bill Slantz and Democrat Arthur Lieber.

More to Discover