South St. Louis County News

St. Louis Call Newspapers

South St. Louis County News

St. Louis Call Newspapers

South St. Louis County News

St. Louis Call Newspapers

Robinson unopposed in Crestwood bid; Sunset Hills mayor faces two challengers

Roy Robinson
Roy Robinson

Crestwood Mayor Roy Robinson is unopposed in his bid for a second term in the Tuesday, April 8, election while Sunset Hills Mayor John Hunzeker will face two challengers — an incumbent alderman and a former alderman.

Filing for the April 8 election ended Jan. 22. Besides the mayoral races in Crest-wood and Sunset Hills, aldermanic seats are up for election in Green Park and Sunset Hills.

Three seats on both the Lindbergh and Mehlville boards of education also are up for election April 8.


Robinson was the only candidate to file for the mayoral post. He was elected mayor in 2005. The seat carries a three-year term.

Green Park

Aldermanic seats are up in each of the city’s three wards. In Ward 1, the seat held by Judy Betlach, who recently resigned, is up for election. Aldermanic seats currently held by Jackie Wilson in Ward 2 and Fred Baras in Ward 3 are up for election. Wilson and Baras have filed for re-election.

The Board of Aldermen has appointed Carol Hamilton, 9924 Slevin Lane, to the Ward 1 seat until the April election. She previously had filed for the Ward 1 seat.

Also filing for the Ward 1 seat was former Alderman Bob Reinagel, 10957 Suanis Court. Reinagel, who was elected in 2005, was defeated last year in his re-election bid by current aldermanic President Anthony Pousosa.

Also filing for the Ward 2 seat was Michael Povich, 11112 Patsy Drive. He ran unsuccessfully for the board in 2000.

Baras is unopposed.

The seats carry two-year terms.

Sunset Hills

Besides the mayoral post held by Hunzeker, aldermanic seats held by Frank Hardy of Ward 1, Thomas Hrastich of Ward 2, Lynn Flowers of Ward 3 and Frank Gregory of Ward 4 are up for election.

Ward 4 Alderman Mike Svoboda and former Ward 3 Alderman Robert Brockhaus, 10000 Hilltop Drive, 63128, are challenging Hunzeker, who is seeking a second term as mayor.

Hardy, Hrastich and Gregory have filed for re-election. Flowers had filed for election to a second term, but withdrew, leaving Stephen Webb, 11948 Lombardy Lane, 63128, unopposed.

Also filing were Dennis Moore, 13133 Maple Drive, 63127, in Ward 1; former Alderman John E. Smith, 8863 Woodfox Drive, 63127; in Ward, 2; and Brett Syberg, 10500 Anton Place, 63128, in Ward 4.

All the seats carry two-year terms.


Board of Education seats held by President Mark Rudoff, Treasurer Katie Wesselschmidt and Bob Foerstel are up for election.

Foerstel and Rudoff have filed for re-election. Also filing were Don Bee, 1321 Park Meadow Drive, 63026; Kathleen O. Kienstra, 7365 Navarre Circle, 63123; and Bill Klostermann, 10733 Kay Berrie Drive.

The seats carry three-year terms.


Board of Education seats held by Vice President Karl Frank Jr., Ken Leach and Cindy Christopher are up for election.

Frank, Chris Brown, 5443 Butler Hill Estates Drive, 63128; David Bertelsen, 7009 Evergreen Meadows Court, 63129; Linda Mooy, 2225 Rainbow Drive, 63125; Drew Frauenhoffer, 3500 Yaeger Crossing Court, 63129; Deborah Langland, 2823 Spring Water Drive, 63129; former board member Marea Kluth-Hoppe, 5315 Oaklawn Drive, 63128; and Erin Weber, 2133 Pierport Circle, 63129; have filed.

Brown ran unsuccessfully for the board last year while Kluth-Hoppe was defeated in her bid for a second term in 2005 by Frank.

The seats carry three-year terms.


The Subdistrict 4 seat on the St. Louis Community College Board of Trustees held by Michael Rohrbacker also is up for election April 8. Filing were Eleftheria “Libby” Fitzgerald, Philip Carlock and Y. Ross Kleinschmidt.

Subdistrict 4 includes the Parkway, Kirkwood, Lindbergh, Mehlville, Rockwood, Valley Park and Meramec Valley school districts and parts of Franklin and Jefferson counties.

The seat carries a six-year term.

More to Discover