Metro board picks new officers

The Metro transit agency’s Board of Commissioners recently selected new officers for its top positions.

Effective next Tuesday, Commissioner Vincent Schoemehl Jr. will become board chairman and Commissioner James Rosborg will become board vice chairman, according to a news release.

Schoemehl was appointed by Missouri Gov. Matt Blunt and joined Metro’s Board of Commissioners in August 2007. He is the president and chief executive officer of Grand Center Inc., a not-for-profit organization charged with restoring the Grand Avenue District of St. Louis as the premiere arts and entertainment district in St. Louis.

Rosborg was appointed by St. Clair County (Ill.) Chairman Mark A. Kern in June 2006. Rosborg currently serves as the program coordinator for McKendree College’s External Graduate Programs.

Current Board of Commissioners Treasurer David Dietzel and Secretary Kevin Cahill will remain in those offices. the release stated.