Filing begins for August primary election

Staff report

Filing for the Aug. 3 primary election for county, state and federal offices opened last week and will continue until 5 p.m. Tuesday, March 30.

At press time, three people have filed in the county executive race, including Democratic incumbent Charlie Dooley, 4408 Mathew St, 63121. Also filing were Republican Bill Corrigan, 52 Godwin Lane, 63124, and Libertarian Theo “Ted” Brown Sr. 9901 Lilac Dr, 63137.

Incumbent Democratic Prosecuting Attorney Robert McCulloch, 603 Norfolk Drive, 63122, was the only person who had filed for that county post at press time.

Four County Council seats are also up for election. Democratic incumbent 1st Dis-trict Councilman Hazel Erby, 8340 Fullerton Ave., 63132, so far is uncontested.

Both 3rd District Councilman Colleen Wasinger, 860 Durbin Court, 63141, and 7th District Councilman Greg Quinn, 331 Norwich Court, 63011, have filed. The two Republicans also are unopposed so far.

In the 5th District, incumbent Democratic Council Chair Barbara Fraser has filed for the 24th District state Senate seat. Re-publican Republican Randy Jotte, 120 Orchard Ave., 63119, has filed for Fraser’s council seat along with Democrats Terri Williams, 521 Clark, 63119, and Patrick Dolan, 1259 Boland Place, 63117.

Statewide, Missouri House seats in the 66th, 85th, 95th, 96th, 97th and 100th districts are among those up for election.

State Rep. Michael Vogt, D-Affton, cannot run again in District 66 this year be-cause of term limits. Genise Montecillo, 6308 Hurstgreen Lane, 63123, has filed.

In the 85th District, incumbent Democratic Rep. Vicki Englund, 4539 Valmeyer Drive, 63128, has filed. Republicans Cloria Brown, 3306 Lone Elm Drive, 63125, and Al Faulstich, 9815 Mar Ann Court, 63128, also have filed for the seat.

Rep. Mike Leara, 10022 Gregory Court, 63128, at press time was unopposed in his re-election bid for the District 95 seat.

District 96 Rep. Pat Yaeger, D-Lemay, also will vacate her seat this year because of term limits. Democrat Scott Sifton, 9814 Berwick Place, 63123, has filed for the office and so far is uncontested.

Eight people have thrown their names into the race for the District 97 seat, for which incumbent Rep. Walt Bivins, R-Oakville, will be ineligible this election.

Democrats Rudy Pulido, 4439 Forder Oaks Drive, 63129; Jim Barrett, 4618 Misty Leaf Lane, 63128; and Jan Polizzi, 5953 Shortleaf Court, 63128, have filed for the seat along with Republicans Gary Fuhr, 5622 Hillcamp Court, 63128; Chris Brown, 5443 Butler Hill Estates, 63128; Jerry Little, 4785 Titan Court, 63128; and William “Bill” Zobrist, 3815 Yaeger Road, 63129.

Constitution Party candidate Daniel Fitzhenry, 3652 Barbagallo Drive, 63129, also has filed in District 97.

In the 100th District, term limits will prevent Rep. Sue Schoemehl, D-Oakville, from running for re-election this year.

Democrat Marty Zuniga, 2605L South-field Trail, 63129, and Republican Marsha Haefner, 3015 Carverview Court, 63129, have filed for the House seat.

In the race for Missouri’s U.S. representative for District 2, Republican incumbent Todd Akin of St. Louis filed for re-election Monday morning.

Republicans Elizabeth “Liz” Lauber, 403 Symphony Hill Court, 63122, and Jeffrey Lowe, 520 Hartford Valley Drive, 63385, have filed along with Libertarian Steve Mosbacher, 4 Sugar Hill Court, 63021.

In the race for Missouri’s U.S. representative for District 3, Democratic incumbent Russ Carnahan, 3150 Allen Ave., 63104, has filed along with fellow Democrats D. Michael Dedic, 1511 Autumn Chase Drive, 63026; David Arnold, 8325 Horst Drive, 63123; and Edward Crim, 7019 Mitchell Ave., 63117.

Republicans John Wayne Tucker, 1243 Water Tower Place, Suite 320, 63010, and Ed Martin, 6427 Devonshire Ave., 63109, also have filed for the District 3 U.S. House seat.