Teachers, classified staff, volunteers honored at Mehlville Recognition Night

Interim Superintendent Jerry Chambers presents the school districts prestigious Distinguished Service Award to Gail Schmitt, left, and Kelly Clark Wicks at Mehlvilles 27th annual Recognition Night.

Interim Superintendent Jerry Chambers presents the school district’s prestigious Distinguished Service Award to Gail Schmitt, left, and Kelly Clark Wicks at Mehlville’s 27th annual Recognition Night.

More than 125 awards were presented last week at the Mehlville School District’s 27th annual Recognition Night.

Nearly 450 teachers, principals, classified employees, administrators, Board of Education members and community volunteers jammed into the Royale Orleans Banquet Center for the event, which took place April 26.

Taking home Teacher of the Year honors for 2007 were:

• Tammy Hagely of Beasley Elementary School.

• Jennifer Thornton of Bernard Middle School.

• Mary Naumann of Bierbaum Elementary School.

• Dawn Meyer of Blades Elementary School.

• Sue Weedman of Buerkle Middle School,

• Stacie Boren of Forder Elementary School.

• Paula Kennedy of Hagemann Elementary School.

• Gail Schilling of the John Cary Early Childhood Center.

• Diane O’Connor of Mehlville Senior High School.

• Peggy Evers of Oakville Elementary School.

• Allyson Maupin of Oakville Middle School.

• Patrick Keenoy of Oakville Senior High School.

• Cathy Navarro of Point Elementary School.

• Pat Prosser of Rogers Elementary School.

• Steve Kress of SCOPE.

• Linda Wolff of Trautwein Elementary School.

• Ann Hinderberger of Washington Middle School.

• Kathy Sigman of Wohlwend Elementary School.

Earning the title of Classified Employee of the Year for 2007 were:

• Shelagh Davis of Beasley Elementary School.

• Susan Basler of Bernard Middle School.

• Sally Onkle of Bierbaum Elementary School.

• Kathy Max of Blades Elementary School.

• Christine Schmitz of Buerkle Middle School.

• Sue Janicke of Central Office.

• Mary Grelle of Forder Elementary School.

• John Tucker of Hagemann Elementary School.

• Mike Gegg of Jefferson Barracks.

• Sheree Connor of the John Cary Early Childhood Center.

• Kathy Waser of Mehlville Senior High School.

• Kathy Grabe of Oakville Elementary School.

• John Teitloff of Oakville Middle School.

• Larry Dittrich Jr. of Oakville Senior High School.

• Sharon Hingle of Point Elementary School.

• Pam Wagner Rogers Elementary School.

• Officer Bill Borner of SCOPE.

• Carol Mehringer of Trautwein Elementary School.

• Jerry Antoine of the Transportation Department.

• Denice Skyles of Washington Middle School.

• Jan Millslagle of Wohlwend Elementary School.

The Mehlville School District also presented Distinguished Service Awards to two community members — Gail Schmitt and Kelly Clark Wicks.

Sixteen community volunteers and/or couples were honored for reaching the 10-year mark in service to the district — Carol Arriaga, Susan Berg, Toni Brown, Mark Dirsa, Tamra Dulle, Sue Foster, Sue Hurt, Marea Kluth-Hoppe, Tammi Kuhlmann, Jennifer Suda, Kim Weigl, Tom and Mary Jane Correnti, William and Denise Frank, David and Melea Genthon, Dan and Gerry Kamp and Raymond and Kathryn Muench.

Mehlville National Education Association President Kay Cappos presented Rep. Sue Schoemehl, D-Oakville, with the Mehlville NEA’s prestigious School Bell Award for her continued service to children.

Receiving applause and accolades, along with a certificate and lapel pin, were 46 employees celebrating a milestone in years of service to the district. Twenty-nine employees reached the 20-year mark, six celebrated a quarter of a century in service to the district, eight were recognized for 30 years of service and three were honored for serving the district for 35 years.

A total of 38 employees previously announced they were planning to retire. Each received a special engraved clock.

Serving as co-masters of ceremonies for the evening were Dan Fowler and Jim Schibig, who also serve as co-chairs for COMPASS — Charting the Oakville-Mehlville Path to Advance Successful Schools — the district’s community engagement program. Assisting at the podium during the evening was interim Superintendent Jerry Chambers. Assisting with the presentation of awards were Board of Education members.