South county voters make choices for municipal boards, boards of education

South county residents will see some new faces on municipal boards and school boards as a result of last week’s election.

Some candidates were ineligible to run as a result of term limits, while some incumbents were turned out of office by voters.

Some incumbents did retain their seats, however, while others did not file for re-election.

Here are the unofficial results for various local races in the April 3 election:


Harold “Mac” McGee, Stephen G. Knarr, incumbent Board of Aldermen President Jerry Miguel and John Foote were elected last week to serve until 2010 on the Crestwood Board of Aldermen.

Knarr edged fellow candidate Danielle Oettle in Ward 2 by less than 5 percentage points. Knarr received 196 votes — 52.13 percent — while Oettle received 180 votes — 47.87 percent.

Foote cruised to victory in Ward 4 over former Alderman Bob Parsons. Foote received 365 votes — 64.37 percent — while Parsons collected 202 votes — 35.63 percent.

McGee in Ward 1 and Miguel in Ward 3 were unopposed.

McGee replaces Ward 1 Alderman Richard Breeding, who was ineligible to seek re-election because of term limits.

Knarr replaces Ward 2 Alderman Jim Kelleher, who did not file for re-election.

Miguel was elected to his second consecutive three-year term on the board.

Foote replaces Ward 4 Alderman Pat Duwe, who was ineligible to seek re-election because of term limits.

Green Park

Voters in the city of Green Park delivered a clean sweep of all incumbents challenged in this year’s election.

The lone exception was incumbent Ward 3 Alderman Mark Hayden, who ran unopposed and was elected to his fourth consecutive two-year term.

Former Ward 2 Alderman Tony Konopka defeated incumbent Mayor Steve Armstrong by a mere four votes. Konopka received 219 votes — 48.24 percent — while Armstrong received 215 votes — 47.36 percent. John E. Schott also received 19 votes — 4.19 percent — in the mayor’s race. Armstrong had served as mayor since 2001.

Political newcomer Anthony J. Pousosa bumped incumbent Ward 1 Alderman Bob Reinagel from office. Pousosa received 120 votes — 57.69 percent — while Reinagel received 88 votes — 42.31 percent. Reinagel had served as an alderman since 2005.

Another first-time political candidate, Tim Thuston, easily defeated incumbent Ward 2 Alderman Charles J. Deters. Thuston received 115 votes — 69.70 percent — while Deters received 50 votes — 30.30 percent. Deters had served as an alderman since 1999. This was the first time he was challenged in an election.

Konopka, Pousosa, Thuston and Hayden were elected to two-year terms.

Sunset Hills

Two incumbents and two newcomers were elected last week to two-year seats on the Sunset Hills Board of Aldermen.

Incumbent Ward 2 Alderman John Littlefield, who was unopposed, and incumbent Ward 3 Alderman Jan Hoffmann both were re-elected.

Hoffmann easily defeated challenger Wolfgang D. Volz. She received 293 votes — 72.89 percent — while Volz received 109 votes — 27.11 percent. She has served as an alderman since 1991.

Douglas J. McGuire Jr., who ran unopposed, is the city’s new Ward 1 alderman and replaces incumbent Ward 1 Alderman Michael Sawicki, who did not file for re-election.

Mike Svoboda handily defeated incumbent Ward 4 Alderman Donald L. Parker. Svoboda received 226 votes — 62.26 percent — while Parker received 137 votes — 37.74 percent. Parker had served as an alderman since 1999. This was the first time he was challenged in an election.

Sunset Hills voters also overwhelmingly approved Proposition P, a half-cent sales-tax increase that is estimated to generate from $750,000 to $950,000 per year for parks and stormwater improvements. The sales-tax increase was supported by 818 voters — 67.60 percent — and opposed by 392 voters — 32.40 percent.

The Proposition P sales-tax increase raises Sunset Hills’ overall sales tax from 6.825 percent to 7.325 percent.

Lindbergh School District

One incumbent and one newcomer were elected last week to serve three-year terms on the Lindbergh Board of Education.

Incumbent Vic Lenz and first-time candidate David L. Peek were the top two vote-getters among four candidates in this year’s election.

Lenz has served on the school board since 2004.

Lenz received 3,119 votes — 38.88 percent — and Peek received 1,819 votes — 22.67 percent.

Candidates coming up short were Richard W. Meuser, who received 1,553 votes — 19.36 percent — and incumbent school-board member Bob Bader, who received 1,504 votes — 18.75 percent.

Bader had served on the school board since 2001.

Mehlville School District

In a race that featured no incumbents, Venki Palamand and Larry Felton were elected last week to serve three-year terms on the Mehlville Board of Education.

Palamand and Felton were the top two vote-getters among six candidates.

Palamand received 2,734 votes — 24.97 percent — and Felton received 2,264 votes — 20.68 percent.

Phil Black received 2,007 votes — 18.33 percent. Chris Brown received 1,856 votes — 16.95 percent. Randy Lowry received 1,100 votes — 10.05 percent. Mark Carter received 836 votes — 7.64 percent.

Palamand and Felton replace school-board members Tom Correnti and Rita Diekemper. Neither Correnti nor Diekemper filed for re-election.

Mehlville Fire Protection District

Ed Ryan was elected last week to serve a six-year term on the Mehlville Fire Protection District Board of Directors.

Ryan received 5,672 votes — 67.67 percent.

Voters filled in 2,722 votes — 32.33 percent — for write-in candidate Dennis C. Skelton, who was endorsed by Local 1889 of the International Association of Fire Fighters.