Oakville High students earn debate honors

An Oakville Senior High School debate team recently posted a 6-0 mark at the Pattonville Invitational, making it to the finals of the Varsity Public Forum Debate and winning the second-place trophy.

Capturing second place were Mark Gro-gan and Mitch Downey.

In the Novice Public Forum Debate competition, the Oakville High team of Collin Mlynarek and John Fleming made it to the quarterfinals, winning the fourth-place trophy. Other Oakville award winners were LeeAnn Karpel, who took third place in Novice Humorous Interpretation, and Lauren Taylor, who was a semifinalist in Novice Original Oratory.

Of the 131 students competing in the Student Congress event, only 12 made it to the Super Session, including Oakville’s Andrea Perkins and Grogan.

In addition, Grogan won Permanent Pre-siding Officer in his chamber.

Oakville was one of 26 schools at the Pattonville Invitational, which featured al-most 900 students competing.

Edward G. Taylor, an English teacher at Oakville Senior High, serves as the school’s speech and debate coach.