Oakville High journalism program earns national honors

The Oakville High School journalism program received two distinguished awards at the Journalism Education Association/National Scholastic Press Association’s National High School Journalism Convention in Minneapolis, Minn.

The 2011 Tiger Paw yearbook received fourth place in Best of Show for yearbooks with 275 to 325 pages, while Channel 97 News earned eighth place in Best of Show for the broadcast category. This year marks the second straight year Channel 97 News has received a Best of Show award.

“Winning Best of Show recognition is a great honor,” OHS journalism instructor Jeff Kuchno, who advises newspaper, yearbook and broadcast at the school, stated in a district news release. “To receive this award for more than one publication in the same year is really special.”

Kailyn Slama and Kris Webb, both 2011 OHS graduates, served as editors-in-chief for the 2011 yearbook. Ryan Huegerich, a senior this year at OHS, is the editor and line producer for Channel 97 News.

More than 300 schools and 4,000 students from across the country attended the national convention.

Two OHS seniors, Emily Maag and Anna Watson, were among the 1,600 students who participated in write-off contests this year and were two of only 669 students who received awards. Maag earned an Honorable Mention in the Feature Writing category, while Watson received an Honorable Mention in the Broadcast Feature category.

“Our work was judged alongside publications from many of the top scholastic journalism programs in the country,” Kuchno stated. “I am very proud of what my students have been able to accomplish.”

The National High School Journalism Convention is a semiannual gathering of high school journalists and advisers sponsored by the National Scholastic Press Association and its partner, the Journalism Education Association. The associations partner to prepare nearly 400 practical and professional learning sessions, from high-profile keynotes to specific, problem-solving breakouts, hands-on workshops and discussion groups. For more information, visit