Lindbergh students earn national recognition

Seven Lindbergh High School students have been named Commended Students in the 2010 National Merit Scholarship Program and one student has been named a National Achievement Scholarship Semifinalist.

The Commended Students are among 34,000 in the nation and include Michael Vangel, Ben Wagnon, Stephen Czaicki, Keegan Barrett, Aida Vajzovic, Miriam Murray and Collin Luebbert.

Although they do not continue in the 2010 competition for National Merit Scholarships, Commended Students placed in the top 5 percent of more than 1.5 million students who took the 2008 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test, or PSAT/NMSQT.

In addition, Lindbergh student Peter Linck is one of 1,600 black American high school seniors who have been designated semifinalists in the National Achievement Scholarship Program.

Students are chosen based on their 2008 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test and finalists for the 800 Achievement Scholarship awards will be announced in the spring.

Among the 160,000 high school juniors who took the PSAT/NMSQT, semifinalists are the highest-scoring program entrants in the states that make up each region.