Lindbergh, Sperreng earn National Character honors

The Character Education Partnership, a national advocate and leader for the character education movement, announced that Lindbergh Schools is one of three districts nationwide to be named a 2014 National District of Character.

In addition, Sperreng Middle School was recognized as a 2014 National School of Character, becoming the sixth Lindbergh school to receive this prestigious honor.

“Establishing a Character Education program is the most productive step toward improving student achievement, creating a culture of service and building a connection between school and community,” Superintendent Jim Simpson stated in a news release.

National Districts and Schools of Character are recognized for their growth and excellence in the area of character development as measured by the Character Education Partnership’s 11 Principles of Effective Character Education framework.

This spring, 50 finalists underwent an intensive screening process to demonstrate how character development has had a positive impact on academic achievement, student behavior and school climate. Three districts and 41 schools received top honors this year.

“We believe the academic success of our students is a direct result of the emphasis placed on sustaining a strong foundation of character development throughout our school community,” Lindbergh Character Education Coordinator Amy Richards stated in the release.

Sperreng is the sixth Lindbergh school to earn the national honor. Crestwood, Kennerly, Long and Sappington elementary schools, and Lindbergh High School have all been recognized as National Schools of Character.

“Our entire school community values Character Education as an integral part of our curriculum,” Sperreng Principal Mark Eggers stated in the release. “Character Education is the foundation that supports all we do.”

The Character Education Partnership will honor the award recipients later this year at the 21st National Forum on Character Education in Washington, D.C. To learn more about the national program, the 11 principles and the 2014 national honorees, visit