Lindbergh National Merit Commended Students honored


The National Merit Scholarship Corp. recently announced that seven Lindbergh High School students have been named Commended Students in the 2018 National Merit Scholarship Program.
Seniors Heidi Budd, Cullen Curth, Emma Fore, Alyssa Hayes, Alexander Medeiros, Emma Schaefer and Dominique Silva are among 34,000 students nationwide who have been recognized for their exceptional academic performance.
Commended Students place among the top 5 percent of more than 1.6 million students who took the 2016 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test.
“This is a great accomplishment,” LHS Principal Eric Cochran stated in a district news release. “The National Merit Scholarship Program requires a tremendous amount of work and these students have demonstrated outstanding potential in their pursuit of academic success.”
The National Merit Scholarship Corp. previously announced that five LHS seniors had been named semifinalists in this year’s program.
Each year, the National Merit Scholarship Corp. partners with business organizations and higher education institutions to award 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $32 million.
The goal of the program is to honor the nation’s scholastic champions and encourage the pursuit of academic excellence.