Lindbergh High to honor Distinguished Alumni

Five Lindbergh High School alumni have been selected to receive a Distinguished Alumni Award at the Alumni Awards Banquet Thursday, Sept. 27.

New members of the Lindbergh High Athletic Hall of Fame also will be inducted at the banquet, which will begin at 5:30 p.m. in the lobby of the school’s auditorium, 4900 S. Lindbergh Blvd.

The Senior March of Champions and the Homecoming Bonfire and Pep Rally will take place afterward at 8:15 p.m. on the high school campus.

Distinguished Alumni nominees were evaluated for a lifetime of excellence, accomplishments and recognition in their fields. The 2007 honorees are Robert H. Brockhaus (1958), Barbara Bess Gregston (1970), Rosalie Gronau Kilper (1960), O. Victor Lenz Jr. (1960) and Sally Tippett-Rains (1975).

The new members of the Athletic Hall of Fame are Brock Lee Bond (2004), Chris Gannon Geisz (2004), Paul Koehler (2001) and Mike Stelmach (1968).

Selection criteria for Hall-of-Fame members include placing in the state tournament of their respective sport or sports, making First Team All-Metro, making First or Second All-State Team and holding a school record.

The Distinguished Alumni and Hall-of-Fame honorees also will be introduced just before the start of the Flyers Homecoming football game Friday, Sept. 28.

The Flyers will tackle the Lafayette Lancers at 7:30 p.m.

This will be a part of the festivities for the first Lindbergh High Alumni Homecoming Weekend, Sept. 27 through Sept. 29.

A special alumni tent will be on site for alumni to gather before, during and after the game to socialize with old friends and meet new alumni.