Lindbergh boasts 11 National Merit semifinalists

Eleven Lindbergh High School students are National Merit Scholarship semifinalists.

The students are: Natalie Amleshi, Alex Brennan, Rachel Bryant, Nick Dyen, Katie Fanning, Austin Hope, Elliott Kohl, Meredith Lane, Amanda Lehr, Jonathan Powers and Jacob Ruf.

More than 1.4 million students entered the 2008 National Merit Program by taking the Preliminary Scholastic Aptitude Test/National Merit Qualifying Test.

The nationwide pool of semifinalists represents less than 1 percent of U.S. high school seniors, according to a district news release.

“Semifinalists are designated on a state representational basis. They are the highest scoring entrants in each state.

“To be considered for a Merit Scholarship award, semifinalists must advance to finalist standing in the competition by meeting high academic standards and all other requirements,” according to the Na-tional Merit Scholarship Corp.’s Web site at