Larson elected to community college board

Craig Larson

Craig Larson

Craig H. Larson last week was elected to a six-year term on the St. Louis Community College Board of Trustees in Subdistrict 4.

The retiring Rockwood School District superintendent received 20,258 votes, or 39.56 percent, according to unofficial April 6 election results.

Tina A. Odo received 15,352 votes, or 29.98 percent. Incumbent Trustee Robert C. Nelson received 10,512 votes, or 20.53 percent. Robert M. Johns received 4,731 votes, or 9.24 percent.

The makeup of south county’s governmental bodies remains virtually unchanged after the April 6 election as most incumbents were unopposed for re-election.

Incumbent aldermen in Crestwood, Sunset Hills and Green Park were re-elected to new terms.

In addition, no elections were conducted for either the Lindbergh or Mehlville boards of education as an equal number of candidates filed for the seats available.

Crestwood incumbent aldermen Mimi Duncan of Ward 1, Jeff Schlink of Ward 2 and Jerry Miguel of Ward 3 all were unopposed and were re-elected April 6 to three-year terms.

In Sunset Hills, Ward 1 Alderman Frank Hardy, Ward 2 Alderman Thomas Hrastich and Ward 3 Alderman Stephen Webb were re-elected unopposed.

In Ward 4, Claudia Svoboda was unopposed for election to the seat left open by incumbent Frank Gregory, who ran for mayor.

They will serve two-year terms.

Three Green Park incumbent aldermen — Carol Hamilton of Ward 1, Jackie Wilson of Ward 2 and Fred Baras of Ward 3 — also were unopposed and were re-elected to two-year terms last week.

Seats on the Lindbergh Board of Education currently held by Vice President Vic Lenz and David Peek were up for election.

The seats carry three-year terms.

Lenz and Kara Horton Gotsch filed for the two seats, and no election took place.

In Mehlville, Board Vice President Venki Palamand and Secretary Larry Felton will serve three-year terms as no one else filed for their seats.